2000–2009: Decade In Future Music


abstract science hosts chris widman, luke stokes and henry self took on the nearly impossible task of summing up a decade of future music–their favorites, the most influential releases and overlooked gems from 2000-2009. [broadcast 07 january 2010 on WLUW 88.7fm Chicago]

>chris widman
machinefabriek-"chinese unpopular song"--weleer-lampse
monolake-"cern"--momentum-ml/imbalance computer music
terminal sound system-"ghost summer"--compressor-extreme
amon tobin-"the clean up"--chaos theory-ninjatune
paradox-"conform to what"--reinforced
modeselektor + ninjaman-"weed wid da macka"--tigerbeat6

>luke stokes
trs-80 - night soil - manhattan love machine - invisble records
plaid - rat's step - tekkonkinkreet soundtrack - aniplex
susanna and the magical orchestra - hallelujah - melody mountain - rune grammofon
murcof - camino - remembranza - leaf
Clint Mansell, Kronos Quartet, and Mogwai - finish it - the fountaian soundtrack - nonesuch
estesombelo - the augmentation of munich's appeasement - oppida von ataraxia - estesombelo.com
telefon tel aviv - farenheit fair enough - farenheit fair enough - hefty
felix leband - whistling in tongues - dark days exit - compost
jaga jazzist - kitty wu - the stix - small town super sound
biosphere - rotation - autour de la lune - touch

>chris widman
wagon christ -"london is a country"--hotel latte
skream-"blipstream"--skreamizm vol. 2-tempa
toasty -"the knowledge (vex'd rmx)
badawi-"den of drums (kode9 rmx)"--rior
clark-"for wolves crew"--turning dragon-warp
the bug feat. daddy freddy-"run the place red"--the pressure-rephlex
deadbeat-"melbourne round midnight"-journeyman's annual-~scape
nubian mindz-"state of mind"--new wolrld chaos-archive
swayzak-"make up your mind"--!k7
john tejada-"mono on mono"--palette
sleeparchive-"paper cup"--sleeparchive
soul designer-"un air de provence"--walking on a little cloud-f com
voom voom-"ginger & fred"--compost

>luke stokes
andrea sartori - prima le signore - il tagliacode - persona
ozy - dis-en-gaged - tokei - force inc
nitin sawhney - nothing - prophesy - v2
bugge wesseltoft - change - moving - jazzland
haushka - rode null - ferndorf - fatcat
juana molina - un dia - un dia - domino
nico muhly - the only tune (the old mill pond) - mothertongue - brassland
messer fur frau muller - agents and spies - triangle dot and devil - aero cccp
twink - boys and girls - the broken record - seeland
skinny puppy - pro-test - the greater wrong of the right - hunter
edit - Battling Go-Go Yubari in Downtown L.A. - Certified Air Raid Material - alpha pup
stars of the lid - the evil that never arrived - and their refinement of the decline - kranky

as one-"undefeated"--ubiquity
secret frequency crew-"black moss caves"--forest on the echo downs-schematic
dosh-"naoise"--naoise ep-anticon
boom bip feat. dose one-"mannequin trapdoor reminder"--seed to sun-lex
dj food feat. bundy k brown-"full bleed"--kaliedascope-ninjatune

>henry self
Daft Punk - "Human After All/Together/One More Time (Reprise)/Music Sounds Better With You" - Alive 2007 - Virgin
LCD Soundsystem - "All My Friends" - Sounds of Silver - DFA
The Rapture - "Sister Saviour" - Echoes - DFA
Annie - "Always Too Late" (Joakim Dub Mix) - 679
M.I.A. - "10 Dollar" - Arular - Interscope
The Knife - "You Make Me Like Charity" - Deep Cuts - Rabid
Grizzly Bear - "Knife" - Yellow House - Warp
TV on the Radio - "Staring at the Sun" - Desperate Youth, Blood Thirsty Babes - Touch and Go
M83 - "Run Into Flowers" (Midnight Fuck Remix by Jackson) - Mute
Cut Copy - "Going Nowhere" (Digitalism Remix) - Modular
Digitalism - "Idealistic" (Hystereo Rebrand) - Kitsuné
The Avalanches - "A Different Feeling" (Paperclip People Remix) - Modular
Gui Boratto - "Beautiful Life" - Chromophobia - Kompakt
Matthew Dear - "Dog Days" - Leave Luck To Heaven - Spectral Sound
Hot Chip - "And I Was A Boy From School" - The Warning - EMI
Jamie Lidell - "When I Come Back Around" - Multiply - Warp
Mark Ronson feat. Alex Greenwald - "Just" - Version - RCA
D'Angelo - "Chicken Grease" - Voodoo - Virgin
Burial - "Archangel" - Untrue - Hyperdub
Trentemøller - "Miss You" - The Last Resort - Poker Flat
Modeselektor feat. Thom Yorke - "The White Flash" - Happy Birthday! - BPitch Control
Radiohead - "Idioteque" - Kid A - Capitol
Yeah Yeah Yeahs - "Y Control" (Faint Remix) - Interscope
Spiritualized - "Soul on Fire" - Songs in A&E - Sanctuary

About the Author
I am the admin. I am all powerful. Bow before me.