BEST OF 2020 part 2, featuring MAKAYA MCCRAVEN remixing GIL-SCOTT HERON, CARIBOU, THUNDERCAT + KRUDER & DORFMEISTER on the second installment of our ABSTRACT SCIENCE year-in-review podcasts. HENRY SELF + JOSHUA P. FERGUSON survey their top selections of 2020, spanning indie jazz, moody techno, organic house, revivalist trip-hop + more. [aired 10 December 2020 on WLUW-Chicago 88.7FM]


Daniel Avery “Lone Swordsman” (Phantasy Sound, 2020)
Yaeji “Waking Up Down” (What We Drew, XL, 2020)
Alan Dixon “Edge of Forever” (Correspondant, 2020)
Jayda G “Both of Us” (Ninja Tune, 2020)
Gil Scott-Heron “New York Is Killing Me” (We’re New Again – A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven, XL, 2020)
Moodymann “Do Wrong” (Skate Edit) (Taken Away, KDJ, 2020)
Guy Gerber “Cameo” (After Dark 3, Italians Do It Better, 2020)
Tame Impala “Is It True” (Four Tet Remix) (Island/Modular, 2020)
The Orb “The Weekend It Rained Forever” (Oseberg Buddha Mix (The Ravens Have Left The Tower)) (Abolition of the Royal Familia, Cooking Vinyl, 2020)
Kölsch “Romtech User Manual” (Now Here No Where, Kompakt, 2020)
Loods “Pure Bliss Meltdown” (Steel City Dance Discs, 2020)
Caribou “Never Come Back” (Suddenly, Merge, 2020)
Flume feat. Toro y Moi “The Difference” (Future Classic, 2020)

Leifur James “Alien” (Angel in Disguise, Night Time Stories, 2020)
Auscultation “Flottant” (III, 100% Silk, 2020)
E.M.M.A. “Wave” (Indigo Dream, Local Action, 2020)
K-LONE “Cape Cira” (Cape Cira, Wisdom Teeth, 2020)
Lindstrom & Prins Thomas “Oranges” (III, Smalltown Supersound, 2020)
Sparkle Division “For Gato” (To Feel Embraced, Temporary Residence Limited, 2020)
Khotin “Heavyball” (Finds You Well, Ghostly International, 2020)
DJ Python “Descanse” (Mas Amable, Incienso, 2020)
Kruder & Dorfmeister “King Size” (1995, G-Stone, 2020)
Jeff Parker “Max Brown, Pt. 1” (Suite for Max Brown, International Anthem, 2020)
The Heliocentrics “Light in the Dark” (Infinity of Now, Madlib Invasion, 2020)
Gil Scott-Heron & Makaya McCraven “Where Did the Night Go” (We’re New Again – A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven, XL, 2020)
Nubya Garcia “Source” (Makaya McCraven remix) (Source, Concord Jazz, 2020)
Thundercat “Interstellar Love” (It Is What It Is, Brainfeeder, 2020)
Tom Misch & Yussef Dayes “Festival” (What Kind of Music, Blue Note, 2020)
Alabaster DePlume “Turpentine” (To Cy & Lee: Instrumentals Vol. 1, International Anthem, 2020)